Leighton intervju om hennes kommande album

Det var tillåtet att kopiera texten.

EW recently caught up with Gossip Girl star Leighton Meester in the recording studio, where she's working on her still-unnamed debut album, due this fall (her first single is slated for July). The actress, who's best known for her bitchy-one liners as Blair Waldorf, says the album will have an electro-pop sound, and she's working with producers like Kenna (Lupe Fiasco, JoJo) and Polow da Don (The Pussycat Dolls, Fergie). "It's very pop," she says. "You can listen to it on the radio. You can listen to it in your car. You can dance to it."

The 23-year-old actress actually began recording her music without a major-label deal. Some of her early tracks, like a cover of "Bette Davis Eyes," leaked onto the web, but Meester isn't sure if they'll make the album. "I'm still figuring it out," she says. "I loved the song and I loved the feel of it. That's what the feel of the rest of the album is gonna be." One thing's for certain: it will reveal some intimate details of Meester's love life. "I've been through a lot as far as love," she says. "When I'm singing a song, I picture somebody in particular. A lot of it is to a guy." Which guy? Nice try: Meester won't spill (the actress had reportedly been dating her GG co-star Sebastian Stan).


It turns out Meester has loved music from a very young age. "I remember I was in the grocery store with my mom when I was little and I heard ‘I Will Always Love You,' " she says. "I must have been 3 or 4, and I went, ‘Mom, that made my back tingle.' She was like, "That's what music is supposed to do.' I loved it."


Meester, who will also spend her summer hiatus shooting the Single White Female-esque thriller The Roommate, has been inspired by some musical giants. "I really love Madonna, Cyndi Lauper, and Debbie Harry," says the actress. "Gwen Stefani and Fergie, too. They're very strong women and have a completely unique sound." Meester also says she's been grooving to Ladyhawke and Australian band Empire of the Sun. "I was in Paris and I listened to [their single 'Walking on a Dream'] like 40 times a day. I love them." Cobra Starship is another band that Meester enjoys, and she actually recorded a song, co-written by American Idol judge Kara DioGuardi, with the rockers (they're also shooting a video together). One other person she really wants to work with? Her GG co-star Ed Westwick. "I would love that. I've thought about it a lot, so we'll see. He's very talented."

leightonmeester_dl

Kommentarer
Postat av: rachels fanblogg

hon sjunger otroligt bra, men kan inte tänka sig att det är hon som sjunger det låter inte som hennes röst om man jämför det med hennes röst i GG.

2009-05-13 @ 19:15:09
URL: http://ultimaterachel.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0